Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Your 2016 Big League Gold Glove Award winners

The 59TH annual Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were handed out to the top 9 big league defensive ballplayers.

The photo above is the 1965 National League Gold Glove of Los Angeles Dodgers catcher Johnny Roseboro.

The Gold Glove had been handed out each year since 1957.

Here's the 18 Gold Glove Award winning players for 2016....

A few thoughts on this year's winners...

⚾ I'm especially happy for Detroit Tigers 2nd Baseman Ian Kinsler, who won his first career Gold Glove .

The 34 year old native of Tucson, Arizona has been the Tigers starting shortstop for three years now after coming over from the Texas Rangers in a trade.

This year Kinsler made just 9 errors as the Tigers second sacker in 151 games, with 744 chances, 303 put outs, 432 assists, and 109 total double plays in 1299 innings.

If the baseball is hit in the general direction of Ian it's a pretty good assumption that the batter that hit the ball will be out.

⚾⚾  San Francisco Giants catcher and 3-time World Series MVP Buster Posey 
 won his first career Gold Glove Award, breaking the 8 year stranglehold that St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina had on the award.

The 29 year old Posey, the former Florida State Seminole, was terrific behind the plate again for the Giants this year, commiting just 3 errors in 123 games, with a .997 fielding percentage.

If you read this blog enough, you know that I have an affinity for big league baseball catchers.

My favorite ballplayer, Tigers 11-Time All-Star Bill Freehan won 5 consecutive Gold Glove Awards , the FIRST catcher to ever achieve that distinction.

Congratulations to all the Gold Glove winners this year... Play Ball!

No comments:

Post a Comment