Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Your 2016 BBWAA Rookies of the Year

On Monday the  Baseball Writers Association of America revealed the winners of the American and National League Rookie of the Year Award, chosen annually by ballot of the members of the BBWAA.

⚾ The American League Rookie of the Year is Detroit Tigers RHP Michael Fulmer, who received 24 of the 30 first place votes by the baseball writers of the BBWAA.

Michael Joseph Fulmer, Detroit Tigers

Fulmer was inserted into to the Tigers starting rotation on April 29th, setting the club record for scoreless innings pitched on June 6th, having tossed

⚾ The National League Rookie of the Year is Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager, who was unanimously selected by the BBWAA writers, receiving all 30 first place votes.

Seager was outstanding this year for the Dodgers  batting .308, with 26 home runs and 76 rbi, collecting 193 hits in 627 official at bats.

Seager joins an elite club of Dodgers rookies, becoming just the 3rd unanimously selected ROY, joining Raul Mondesi in 1994, and Hall of Famer Mike Piazza in 1993.

Play Ball! 

No comments:

Post a Comment