Wednesday, October 31, 2012

BBA Managers of the Year

In a recent post I revealed my picks for the Baseball Bloggers Association awards for the 2012 big league baseball season.

My selections can be found in this post.

The first winner announced is the Connie Mack Award, for the Manager of the Year in both the American and National Leagues.

Davey Johnson, the skipper of the Washington Nationals, is the National League recipient of the BBA Mack Award.

Johnson guided the Nats to their 1st ever N.L. East Division Title, and the club's 1st ever playoff berth since the team moved from Montreal, in 2005.

In the A.L., Bob Melvin, the manager of the Oakland Athletics, Connie Mack's old team (via Philadelphia, Kansas City and then Oakland), is the Mack Award winner.

The A's played light's out baseball after the All-Star break, beating out the 2 time defending A.L. Champion Texas Rangers for the A.L. West Division Title.

Just like Connie Mack, both managers also played in the big leagues.

Johnson most notably starred as a 2nd baseman for Earl Weaver's Oriole's in the late 1960s- early 1970's, but is also known as one of three Atlanta Braves who belted 40+ home runs in 1973.

Johnson, playing 2nd base, clubbed 43 home runs that year.

First baseman Darrell Evans hit 41 homers, and Hammerin' Hank Aaron hit 40.

Melvin made it to the big league with the Detroit Tigers in 1985, but I seem to always remember him as a catcher for the San Francisco Giants, in the late 1980's.

Congratulations to both Mack winners, Johnson, and Melvin, as well as all the managers who were nominated by the 232 members of the BBA.

Connie Mack was one of baseball's best managers, serving as the manager of the old Philadelphia Athletics, for 50 years.

Mack started as player/manager with the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1884.

In 1901 Mack became manager of the Athletics in the new upstart American League, a job he held until the end of the 1950 season.

Staring in 1902, through 1914, Mack's A's were a dominating  American League club, winning 6 A.L. Pennants, including 3 World Series Titles, in 1910, 1911, and 1913.

The Athletics also won the World Series in 1929, and 1930.

Mack was inducted in the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1937.

No comments:

Post a Comment