Saturday, October 8, 2011

Kirk Gibson is my National League Manager of the Year

Last year the Arizona Diamondbacks were 65-97, last in the N.L. West, a full 27 games behind the San Francisco Giants.

In 2008 they finished 70-92, again, last in the division.

This year the Diamondbacks finished first in the N.L.West, going 94-68, last place to first place, winning by eight games over the Giants, the defending World Series Champions.

Behind those 94 wins and division crown was Kirk Gibson, the former big league ball player and Diamondbacks manager, who instilled guts and determination to the Arizona club.

Gibson is my choice for the  Connie Mack Award, awarded by the Baseball Bloggers Association. 

Ron Roenicke of the Milwaukee Brewers, receives my 2nd place vote, as he led the Brewers to the N.L. Central Division title, the Brewers first division title since 1982.

Tony LaRussa of the St. Louis Cardinals is my choice for 3rd place.

LaRussa guided the Cards to the N.L. Wild Card spot in the 2011 playoffs, leading the team back from a 9 game deficit in early September.

No comments:

Post a Comment