Monday, January 9, 2012

Barry Larkin gaines election onto the Baseball Hall of Fame

Former Cincinnati Reds and Michigan Wolverine shortstop Barry Larkin has been voted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Larkin spent his entire 19 year big league career with the Reds, batting .295, with 198 HRS and 960 RBI.

Larkin was the 1995 National League Most Valuable Player,  and played in 12 All-Star games.

The Reds won the 1990 World Series with Larkin at shortstop.

Larkin received 86.4 % of the vote from members of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

 To gain entry into the HOF one must receive 75% of the total vote of all ballots cast by members of the BBWAA.

Earlier this year the Baseball Bloggers Alliance,  of whom I'm a member, recommended that Larkin, along with former Houston Astos 1st baseman Jeff Bagwell, be elected into the hall.

Larkin was on my ballot, as was Bagwell.

I also voted for Jack Morris, Allan Trammell, Dale Murphy, Larry Walker, Tim Raines, Edgar Martinez, and Don Mattingly.

Here is a link to the list of all BBWAA members and whom they voted for.

Induction for Larkin, along with Golden Era Committee selection, the late Ron Santo of the Chicago Cubs, broadcaster Tim McCarver, the Ford C. Frick winner, and baseball writer Bob Elliot, the J.G. Taylor Spinks winner,will be on July 22nd, 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment